The Who Tommy VINYL

1NOTE Vinyl Records Vinyl LPs Vinyl Record Store » The Who Tommy VINYL

The Who Tommy VINYL



BBC review
This was the zenith (and, ultimately, the end) of Pete Townshend’s creative partnership with the band’s producer/manager Kit Lambert. Lambert’s utter belief in Pete’s ability to take a bunch of West London mods into a studio to forge a coherent statement that came to be known as ‘rock opera’ was the fire that lit the fuse. Well, that and the fact that the bailiffs were knocking at the door. Years of auto-destruction in the name of performance art had left a lot of repair bills to be paid. Yet Lambert’s ambitions to turn the whole thing into a film (as if…) were rejected out of hand by Pete. The end was nigh… Townshend had already attempted the concept format with his semi-successful A Quick One. In reality this and Tommy had much in common. Both showed the composer to be fast outgrowing his r ‘n’ b roots to become an accomplished explorer of themes and moods. (Tommy’s true glory lies in its extended instrumental passages that, while being a little repetitive, blend themes gloriously). And both had librettos which were, somewhat shakey. Yet, while A Quick One concerned a woman’s extra marital affair with a train driver, Tommy took itself slightly more seriously.

It being the late sixties, certain substances and philosophies were even creeping into the vocabulary of a Shepherd’s Bush boy. Tommy’s vague plotline of childhood trauma, spiritual chicanery and redemption to this day remains just as impenetrable. Much of it was conceived on the hoof with the killer single ”Pinball Wizard” only added on Lambert’s insistence that they needed an obvious hit, suggesting that pinball was a hip enough subject for the kids. The band, honed by touring, threw themselves behind Lambert and Townshend with little of the usual bickering, and the playing on this mix indeed sounds exuberant. The project overran massively, only ceasing when time and money ran out and there’s still an incompleteness to parts of the work. The quality of this new remaster so roundly hits you between the eyes that you wonder how on earth anyone put up with anything less over these three decades. Every slip, every bum note and every wobbly vocal (Townshend took up far more of the vocal duties on this album) merely makes it more precious. Tommy we can hear you…

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Overture
2. It’s A Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker)
7. Christmas
8. Cousin Kevin
9. The Acid Queen
10. Underture
Disc: 2
1. Do You Think It’s Alright?
2. Fiddle About
3. Pinball Wizard
4. There’s A Doctor
5. Go To The Mirror!
6. Tommy Can You Hear Me?
7. Smash The Mirror
8. Sensation
9. Miracle Cure
10. Sally Simpson
11. I’m Free
12. Welcome
13. Tommy’s Holiday Camp
14. We’re Not Gonna Take It

Artist: The Who
Title: Tommy
Genre: Classic Rock
Release Date: 2013
Attributes: Vinyl LP Discs: 2
Label: Umc
Product Type: Vinyl
Catalogue: 3715749
UPC: 0602537157495


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Who Tommy VINYL”

You may also like…