The Beatles Abbey Road VINYL

1NOTE Vinyl Records Vinyl LPs Vinyl Record Store » The Beatles Abbey Road VINYL

The Beatles Abbey Road VINYL



BBC review
At the fag end of the 60s, the Beatles produced Abbey Road, their last smoke and mirrors triumph, a musical truce that papered over cracks between the group which were, by now, unfathomably deep. It was to be a marvellous set-piece finale for the group that had defined the decade.
Although large sections of the material had been left over from as far back as their Indian sojourn in the spring of 1968, the overall sound and feel was that of a coherent and logical work, which played to every one of the foursome’s considerable strengths. John Lennon would frequently dismiss the album after its release, but Abbey Road contains three of his very finest works: Come Together, I Want You (She’s So Heavy), and Because. George Harrison established himself as an individual talent of some note with the beautiful Something and the ever-lovely Here Comes the Sun, and even Ringo Starr continued to set fair his light entertainer course with Octopus’s Garden.

However – the deplorable Maxwell’s Silver Hammer aside – Abbey Road is primarily a triumph for Paul McCartney, preserving The Beatles’ legacy on their less-than-fond farewell. Apart from being fairly low-key on the album’s first side, his piecing together of their ‘long medley’ from leftovers and doodles on the reverse is possibly his greatest sustained achievement, culminating in every member of the group soloing on The End. Although this side is responsible for myriad crimes later committed in its name (think the worst of 10cc, ELO, Alan Parsons Project), it is a mature and intelligent coda to the single most important act British music produced. The Beatles’ work was done. They’d come to symbolise the 60s, taken youth culture to the world, and ultimately collapsed under the responsibility, the weight they had to carry. Abbey Road is the soundtrack to it all.

Track Listing
1 Come Together
2 Something
3 Maxwell’s Silver Hammer
4 Oh! Darling
5 Octopus’s Garden
6 I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
7 Here Comes the Sun
8 Because
9 You Never Give Me Your Money
10 Sun King
11 Mean Mr. Mustard
12 Polythene Pam
13 She Came in Through the Bathroom Window
14 Golden Slumbers
15 Carry That Weight
16 The End
17 Her Majesty

Artist: The Beatles
Title: Abbey Road
Genre: 1960s / Psychedelia
Product Type: Vinyl LP Record
Discs: 1
Release Date: 2012
Country: USA
Label: EMI / Capitol
Catalogue: 82468
UPC: 094638246817
Special information: This album has been prepared using the 2009 digital remasters which were created from the original stereo analogue master tapes.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Beatles Abbey Road VINYL”

You may also like…