Sting If On A Winter’s Night VINYL

1NOTE Vinyl Records Vinyl LPs Vinyl Record Store » Sting If On A Winter’s Night VINYL

Sting If On A Winter’s Night VINYL


Email this to someoneShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on LinkedIn0Share on StumbleUpon0

If On A Winter’s Night… presents songs which conjure the winter season – the silences of the snow, days of solitude and reflection and a time of re-birth. Here we have the traditional music of the British Isles as the starting point and Sting draws the listener in through a collection of songs, carols, and lullabies spanning the centuries: “The Snow It Melts the Soonest” (traditional Newcastle ballad), “Soul Cake” (traditional English begging song with roots in Halloween/All Souls Day) and Gabriel’s Message (14th century carol). Sting also includes new compositions: “Lullaby for an Anxious Child” and “The Hounds of Winter”. Also included is “Hurdy Gurdy Man”, a musical reworking and English translation (by Sting) of “Der Leiermann” from Schubert’s classic winter song-cycle Winterreise.

Track Listing
1. Gabriel’s Message
2. Soul Cake
3. There Is No Rose Of Such Virtue
4. The Snow It Melts The Soonest
5. Christmas At Sea
6. Lo How A Rose E’er Blooming
7. Cold Song
8. The Burning Babe
9. Now Winter Comes Slowly
10. The Hounds Of Winter
11. Balulalow
12. Cherry Tree Carol
13. Lullaby For An Anxious Child
14. Hurdy Gurdy Man
15. You Only Cross My Mind In Winter

Artist: Sting
Title: If On A Winter’s Night
Genre: Folk / Country
Release Date: 2009
Attributes: LP ~ Discs:1
Label: Decca
Product Type: Vinyl
Catalogue: B001333101
UPC: 602527139432


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sting If On A Winter’s Night VINYL”