Pink Floyd Echoes The Best of Pink Floyd 4 x VINYL

1NOTE Vinyl Records Vinyl LPs Vinyl Record Store » Pink Floyd Echoes The Best of Pink Floyd 4 x VINYL

Pink Floyd Echoes The Best of Pink Floyd 4 x VINYL



Email this to someoneShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on LinkedIn0Share on StumbleUpon0

BBC review
The first Pink Floyd compilation in 20 (yes, 20) years is, undoubtedly, a landmark in any major record company’s calendar. With Christmas soon upon us, it’s only right and proper that EMI should be foisting these psychedelic gems on us one more time. With all the old Floydian guns brought to bear – the sleeve design by Storm Thorgerson of Hipgnosis with its multitudinous references to past glories (how many can you spot?), massive multimedia marketing campaign and, as a bonus, the tracks sewn together with a slew of nifty new sound effects – how can this fail to please? All the usual suspects are here with a few glaring omissions and several quite brave choices. Guitarist David “don’t call me Dave” Gilmour has already stated his disappointment that the democratic method of selection left out “Fat Old Sun” from Atom Heart Mother, and one can’t help but feel that the Floyd’s more experimental years (1968-70) have been passed over in favour of safer numbers. Where are “The Nile Song”, “Free Four”, “Careful With That Axe Eugene”, and “Several Species Of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together In A Cave And Grooving With A Pict”? OK the last one was a joke and these are minor quibbles when we get such treats as Syd Barrett’s swansong – the haunting “Jugband Blues” with its poignant self portrait of desolate alienation – and the title track itself, the lovely “Echoes” with its frankly quite funky middle eight.

What brings these tracks back to life after so long at the back of our record collections is the way they’ve been segued in non-chronological order, creating startling new contexts and contrasts. “Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun” never sounded lovelier oozing out of “The Great Gig In The Sky”. Yet the methodology also has its failings. The fact remains that everything recorded by The Pink Floyd in the 20 years since A Collection Of Great Dance Songs has never lived up to what went before. How could it with the band in a state of slow disintegration? Tracks from The Final Cut and A Momentary Lapse Of Reason sound, in turn lumpen, cynical or just lacking in imagination. Undoubtedly, Gilmour’s finest work from this period was always his session work for others and “Learning To Fly” really can’t compare to “Us And Them”. Ultimately, however, with the entire album bookended by the first and last tracks of The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn, the listener is reminded that for at least half of their career this band were truly sonic pioneers. Completing a transition from swinging space cadets to multi-platinum monsters – this album tells the whole story, crazy diamonds and all.

Track Listing
A1 Astronomy Domine
A2 See Emily Play
A3 The Happiest Days Of Our Lives
A4 Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2)
A5 Marooned
A6 The Great Gig In The Sky
B1 Echoes
B2 Hey You

C1 Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun
C2 Money
C3 Keep Talking
D4 Sheep
D5 Sorrow

E6 Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-7)
F1 Time
F2 The Fletcher Memorial Home
F3 Comfortably Numb
F4 When The Tigers Broke Free

G1 One Of These Days
G2 Us And Them
G3 Learning To Fly
G4 Arnold Layne
H1 Wish You Were Here
H2 Jugband Blues
H3 High Hopes
H4 Bike

Artist: Pink Floyd
Title: Echoes: The Best of Pink Floyd
Genre: Classic Rock
Release Date: 2002
Attributes: 4 x VINYL LP BOX SET
Label: EMI
Product Type: Vinyl
UPC: 724353611118


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Pink Floyd Echoes The Best of Pink Floyd 4 x VINYL”

You may also like…