Kanye West Late Registration VINYL

1NOTE Vinyl Records Vinyl LPs Vinyl Record Store » Kanye West Late Registration VINYL

Kanye West Late Registration VINYL


SKU: 602498824047 Categories: , Tags: , ,


BBC review
Kanye West is an asshole. Yep, he proudly confessed that on his first album, College Dropout. You only have to look at the way he behaves at award shows, declares himself to be the best at, well, everything, and has disputes with magazines who don’t give his albums top marks to confirm his insight. However that’s the appeal, the arrogance, the cockiness and the confusion. Recently named one of Time Magazine’s 100 most influential people in the world, it is obvious that not only does he believe in his greatness, but that others think the same way too. Late Registration, West’s sophomore effort, has some fabulously soulful production. Some might find his samples a little obvious, but let’s be honest, who has ever brought the essence of Simon and Garfunkel, Curtis Mayfield and Shirley Bassey to one album? For all his arrogance, Kanye is keenly aware of the history of black popular music and certainly has no fear of the ‘pop music’ label.

He’s not afraid of making social and political statements either. “Crack Music” deals with the harsh reality of drugs in the black community and proclaims, like only a musician can, ‘that music is the only medicine’. On “Diamonds From Sierra Leone (remix)” West acknowledges that the origins of his jewellery may be far from harmless. But it wouldn’t be a Kanye album without humour, wit and perverse ambition! And there’s that by the truckload. The list of guests (Common, The Game, Nas and Jay-Z) is impressive, and rather weirdly – on “Gold Digger” -includes Jamie Foxx singing along in his Ray Charles voice, to samples of the original Ray Charles. This is a thought provoking album. Whether it becomes a classic or not, only time will tell, but as the man himself says, ‘everybody feel a way about K, but at least y’all feel something’.

Track Listing
1. Wake Up Mr. West
2. Heard ‘Em Say [Feat. Adam Levine of Maroon 5]
3. Touch The Sky [Feat. Lupe Fiasco]
4. Gold Digger [Feat. Jamie Foxx]
5. Skit #1
6. Drive Slow [Feat. Paul Wall & GLC]
7. My Way Home [Feat. Common]
8. Crack Music [Feat. The Game]
9. Roses
10. Bring Me Down [Feat. Brandy]
11. Addiction
12. Skit #2
13. Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Remix) [Feat. Jay-Z]
14. We Major [Feat. Nas & Really Doe]
15. Skit #3
16. Hey Mama
17. Celebration
18. Skit #4
19. Gone [Feat. Consequence & Cam’Ron]

Artist: Kanye West
Title: Late Registration
Genre: Rap / Hip Hop
Release Date: 6 September 2005
Label: Umgd/Def Jam
Product Type: Vinyl
Catalogue: 481301
UPC: 602498824047


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kanye West Late Registration VINYL”

You may also like…