Bill Frisell Big Sur VINYL

1NOTE Vinyl Records Vinyl LPs Vinyl Record Store » Bill Frisell Big Sur VINYL

Bill Frisell Big Sur VINYL


SKU: 888837173810 Categories: , , Tags: , ,


Email this to someoneShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on LinkedIn0Share on StumbleUpon0

Big Sur features all-new music commissioned by the Monterey Jazz Festival which premiered at their festival in 2012. While staying at the Glen Deven Ranch Frisell was captivated by the beauty and grandeur of the Big Sur, California coastline which inspired him to write this transcendent new music. He is joined on the recording by the talented musicians of his Big Sur Quintet; Jenny Scheinman (violin), Eyvind Kang (viola), Hank Roberts (cello) and Rudy Royston (drums). Although his work is steeped in jazz, Frisell’s music includes characteristics of rock, country, and bluegrass, among various other styles. Such liberality explains his willingness to expand his tonal palette beyond that of the typical jazz guitarist. A Grammy winner for Best Contemporary Jazz Album in 2005, Bill Frisell is one of the most singular musicians of his generation and has released over 30 albums since his debut recording in 1983.

Track Listing
Disc 1
1. The Music of Glen Deven Ranch
2. Sing Together Like a Family
3. A Good Spot
4. Going to California
5. The Big One
6. Somewhere
7. Gather Good Things
8.. Cry Alone
9. The Animals
10. Highway 1
Disc 2
1. A Beautiful View
2. Hawks
3. We All Love Neil Young
4. Big Sur
5. On the Lookout
6. Shacked Up
7. Walking Stick (for Jim Cox)
8. Song for Lana Weeks
9. Far Away

Artist: Bill Frisell
Title: Big Sur
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 6 August 2013
Attributes: 2 LP
Country: USA
Label: Sbme/Masterworks
Product Type: Vinyl
Catalogue: 717381
UPC: 888837173810


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bill Frisell Big Sur VINYL”